The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics Awarded for 2012

Introducing the 2012 Laureates, Profs. Carlos Bustamante and Wolfgang Helfrich

04 September 2012

The Raymond and Beverly International Sackler Prize in Biophysics, awarded at Tel Aviv University, has been established through the generosity of TAU Governors Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. The research field for 2012 is: Physical Principles in Biology.



Tel Aviv University is proud to announce that the 2012 Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics will be awarded to:



Prof. Carlos Bustamante

Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Department of Physics,
Department of Chemistry, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute,
University of California, Berkeley, CA 94720-3220, USA 

For his seminal contributions to single molecule biophysics.



Prof. Wolfgang Helfrich

Department of Physics, Freie Universität Berlin, Berlin, Germany

For his pioneering contributions to the foundation of biophysics of lipid bilayers and biological membranes.





The Sackler Prize will be shared equally between the two distinguished recipients, and will be awarded to them in person on Wednesday, December 12, 2012, between 14:30 and 15:00, in TAU’s Zeevi Auditorium, Beit Hatfutsot.   


Tel Aviv University is honored to administer the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics, which is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by awarding outstanding scientists.


List of Laurerates From Previous Years


Coordinators for 2012:
Prof. David Andelman, Prof. Michael Kozlov and Prof. Michael Urbakh.
Tel Aviv University, 69978 Tel Aviv, Israel
Tel: +972-3-640-7389, Email:


Tel Aviv University, P.O. Box 39040, Tel Aviv 6997801, Israel
UI/UX Basch_Interactive