BOG 2016: Sieratzki Prize for Advances in Neuroscience Awarded

Award ceremony honors Mrs. Barbara Sieratzki on her 90th birthday
26 June 2016

Front row, from left: Prof. Illana Gozes, Prof. Nir Giladi, Mrs Barbara Sieratzki, Dr. Tom Schonberg, Dr. Yonathan Kupchik, Dr. Roe Admon and Dr. Nicola Maggio

Back row, from left: Dr. Kuti Baruch, Dr. Jechil (Harry) Sieratzki, Prof. Talma Hendler, Gal Hacohen Kleinman, Neta Gazit, Prof. Uri Ashery, Prof. Yaniv Assaf and Dr. Segev Barak

Photo: Israel Hadari


The Sieratzki Prize for Advances in Neuroscience for 2016 was awarded to seven  outstanding researchers and students in brain science: Dr. Kuti Baruch of the Weizmann Institute of Science; Dr. Roe Admon of the Functional Brain Center, Wohl Institute for Advanced imaging at the Tel-Aviv Sourasky Medical Center; Dr. Tom Schonberg of TAU; Dr. Yonathan Kupchik of the Hebrew University of Jerusalem; Dr. Nicola Maggio of the Chaim Sheba Medical Center; and TAU students Gal Hacohen Kleinman and Neta Gazit.  


This year’s ceremony celebrated Mrs. Barbara Sieratzki, a TAU Governor and Honorary Fellow.  She was presented with a certificate by Dean of the Sackler Faculty of Medicine  Prof. Ehud Grossman recognizing her decades-long commitment to Tel Aviv University, her support for research conducted in the framework of the Sieratzki Chair in Neurology and her involvement as a driving force behind the University’s German Friends Association since its founding.


Mrs. Sieratzki’s son, Dr. Jechil (Harry) Sieratzki, who founded the Prize together with his mother in 2009, thanked the researchers for their hard work. He spoke about his mother, showed pictures of her life and noted that she and his late father visited Israel for the first time in 1956, the same year that Tel Aviv University was established. “Since then her love for this country and her dedication to supporting education has never stopped growing,” he said.


Stimulating lectures were delivered by the esteemed UK Professors Bencie Woll and Roi Cohen Kadosh, who was the first recipient of the Sieratzki Prize.  The Ceremony was attended by Prof. Amos Korczyn and Prof. Nir Giladi, former and current incumbents of the Heinrich (Yehezkel) Sieratzki Chair in Neurology.


Academic Coordinator of the Prize is Prof. Illana Gozes of the Sagol School of Neuroscience and the Adams Super Center for Brain Studies. 



Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>