The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics Awarded for 2012

21 January 2013
From left: Prof. David Andelman, TAU President Joseph Klafter, Prof. Carlos Bustamante, Prof. Michael Urbakh, and Prof. Carlos Bustamante

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics for 2012 was awarded to Prof. Carlos Bustamante of the University of California, Berkeley, and Prof. Wolfgang Helfrich of the Freie Universität Berlin, Berlin, Germany. The two professors were awarded $50,000 each at the prize ceremony that took at Tel Aviv University. Prof. Carlos Bustamante was recognized for his seminal contributions to single molecule biophysics, and Prof. Wolfgang Helfrich for his pioneering contributions to the foundation of biophysics of lipid bilayers and biological membranes.


The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics was established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. The Prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by awarding outstanding scientists, and is administered by Tel Aviv University through an advisory committee comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector. The 2012 Coordinators of the Prize were Professors David Andelman, Michael Kozlov and Michael Urbakh of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler School of Physics and Astronomy. 


Click here for the prize ceremony photo gallery 


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>