Past Laureates of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in the Physical Sciences



Research Field: The Physical Sciences for Chemistry


Professor Christopher J. Chang

Department of Chemistry, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology, Helen Wills Neuroscience Institute, and Howard Hughes Medical Institute, University of California, Berkeley

Chemical Sciences Division, Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory



Prof. Chang is a pioneer in bioinorganic chemistry and the development of chemical probes for imaging metals and redox events in biological systems.


Professor Jason W. Chin

Medical Research Council Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge, UK

and Department of Chemistry, University of Cambridge, UK




Prof. Chin has markedly advanced non-natural amino acid technology and demonstrated its power for biological discovery. 


Professor Matthew D. Disney

Department of Chemistry, Scripps Research, Florida





Prof. Disney has made seminal contributions to field of discovery and development of small molecule probes and drugs targeting RNA.



Research field: Magnetic Resonance


Prof. John Morton

London Centre for Nanotechnology and Department of Electronic and Electrical Engineering

UCL (University College London), UK





For his highly novel contributions to quantum information processing, by means of a range of phenomena in magnetic resonance, both NMR and EPR. In addition to the intrinsic interest in these very fundamental processes, this work is likely to have wide-ranging implications to emerging quantum technologies, including quantum computing, information storage and processing.




Professor Guido Pintacuda

Institute of Analytical Sciences (High-Field NMR Centre)

Ecole Normale Supérieure de Lyon - CNRS - Université Claude Bernard





For his elegant methodological advances in solid state NMR spectroscopy,  including  advances in proton detection, and for insightful applications to challenging biological systems.


Professor Charalampos Babis Kalodimos 

Department of Biochemistry, Molecular Biology, and Biophysics

University of Minnesota





For beautifully detailed characterizations of structure, function, and dynamics in a number of challenging and important biological systems through solution NMR spectroscopy.





Research field: Functionalization of Carbon-Hydrogen Bonds in Organic Synthesis.


Professor Melanie S. Sanford, Moses Gomberg Collegiate Professor of Chemistry
and Arthur F. Thurnau Professor of Chemistry, University of Michigan, Ann Arbor
Professor Jin-Quan Yu, Frank and Bertha Hupp Professor of Chemistry,
The Scripps Research Institute, La Jolla, CA






For their seminal contributions to the catalytic functionalization of carbon hydrogen bonds, development of practical methodologies for applications in the synthesis of complex organic molecules and mechanistic understanding of metal-based organic transformations.




Research field: Molecular dynamics of chemical reactions. 


Prof. Gregory D. Scholes


Department of Chemistry, University of Toronto
80 St. George St., Toronto, Ontario M5S 3H6
For his seminal contribution to the field of ultrafast spectroscopy and the applications to quantum coherent energy transfer and exciton dynamics in biophysics and materials science through the development of multi-dimensional electronic spectroscopy.

Prof Martin T. Zanni


Meloche-Bascom Professor, Department of Chemistry, University of Wisconsin-Madison, 1101 University Ave., Madison, WI 53706-1396



For his seminal contribution to the field of ultrafast spectroscopy and the applications to vibrational dynamics in biophysics and materials science through the development of coherent multi-dimensional infrared spectroscopy.



Research field: Total Synthesis of Biologically Active Natural Products


Prof. Phil S. Baran
The Scripps Research Institute, Department of Chemistry, La Jolla, CA, USA


For his seminal contribution through a series of groundbreaking syntheses that demonstrated the advantages of the novel oxidative CC bond formation in terms of efficiency, practicality, stereocontrol and "redox-economy".



Prof. Matthew D. Shair

Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Harvard University, Cambridge, MA, USA


For his seminal contribution to the syntheses of complex natural products by using new cascade reactions to rapidly achieve molecular complexity.



Prof. Brian M. Stoltz
Division of Chemistry and Chemical Engineering
California Institute of Technology, Pasadena, CA, USA


For his seminal contribution through the development of enatioselective methods for oxidation and catalytic bond construction, and their utilization for the total synthesis of complex natural products.




Research field: Metals in Synthesis

Prof. Christopher C. Cummins, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prof. John F. Hartwig, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign



Research field: Theoretical Chemistry

Prof. Christoph Dellago, University of Vienna
Prof. Christopher Jarzynski, University of Maryland
Prof. David Robert Reichman, Columbia University



Reseach field: Advanced Nanostructured Materials

Prof. Chad A. Mirkin, Northwestern University
Prof. Xiaoliang Sunney Xie, Harvard University



Research field: Physical Chemistry of Advanced Materials

Prof. Moungi B. Bawendi, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Prof. James R. Heath, California Institute of Technology

Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>