Sackler Prizes - Past Laureates

The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics is a prize that has been established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler.

The prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by rewarding outstanding scientists.





Development of microfluidic methods for biophysics and structural biology of proteins and nucleic acids
Professor Stephen R. Quake,
Department of Bioengineering and Applied Physics, Stanford University, U.S.A.

Invention, development and biophysical applications of Stochastic Optical Reconstruction Microscopy (STORM) and related methods of super resolution microscopy
Professor Xiaowei Zhuang,
Department of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, Department of Physics, Harvard University, U.S.A.



Studies of the hydrophobic effect and its contribution to protein interactions and assemblies
Doctor Gerhard Hummer,
Theoretical Biophysics Section, National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, U.S.A.

Studies of protein interactions underlying molecular mechanisms of apoptosis (programmed cell death)
Professor Yigong Shi,
School of Life Sciences, Tsinghua University, Beijing, China


Computational studies of protein folding, structure and reactions
Professor David A. Baker,
Department of Biochemistry, University of Washington, Seattle, U.S.A.

Experimental studies of fast processes mediating the structural dynamics of complex biomolecular system
Professor Martin Gruebele,
Department of Chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, U.S.A.

Studies of protein folding in formation and transmission of prions
Professor Jonathan S. Weissman,
Departments of Cellular & Molecular Pharmacology and Biochemistry & Biophysics, University of California, San Francisco, U.S.A.


Cellular Biophysics: methodology for quantitative characterization of intracellular dynamics of cytoskeleton and focal adhesions
Professor Clare M. Waterman-Storer,
The Scripps Research Institute, Department of Cell Biology,
La Jolla, California, U.S.A.;
and Laboratory of Cell and Tissue Morphodynamics, National Heart Lung and Blood Institute,
National Institutes of Health, Bethesda, Maryland, U.S.A.

Physics of non-equilibrium bio-cellular systems such as molecular motors, active membranes, filaments and the cytoskeleton
Professor Frank Jülicher,
Max Planck Institute for the Physics of Complex Systems in Dresden, Germany.


Cell Biophysics: regulation of membrane dynamics by proteins and molecular mechanisms of endocytosis
Doctor Harvey T. McMahon,
Medical Research Council, Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge.

Single Molecule Biophysics: development of novel tools for studying atomic-scale conformational changes in biological macromolecules
Professor Paul R. Selvin,
Department of Physics, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, U.S.A.


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>