



Pursuing the Unknown

2 0 1 8



# TUESDAY, MAY 17

8:30PM

Inauguration of the Steve Tisch School of Film and Television

Yolanda and David Katz Faculty of the Arts, Mexico Building, Foyer

| WEDNESDAY, MAY 18 |   |
|-------------------|---|
| 8:00AM - 8:50AM   | <b>Legal Committee</b> George S. Wise Senate Building (216)   |
| 9:00AM - 10:15AM  | Finance Committee Review and oversee the year's budget Itzhak Alfred Guttmann Administration Building (308)   |
| 11:00AM - 11:45AM | Cornerstone laying for the Smolarz Family Building at the George S. Wise Faculty of Life Sciences Adjacent to the entrance of the Archie Sherman Building of Life Sciences                            |
| 11:00AM - 12:30PM | Funds and Trusts Committee Review and oversee the year's investments Itzhak Alfred Guttmann Administration Building (308)   |
| 12:30PM - 2:00PM  | Student Affairs Committee Review students' needs and find ways to maximize their success The Prof. Judah M. Eisenberg Conference Room Donated by the family and German Friends of Tel Aviv University |
| 12:30PM - 3:00PM  | Presidents of Friends Associations Leadership Meeting By invitation only  |
| 2:15PM - 3:45PM   | Campus Development and Maintenance Committee Oversee new and ongoing construction and maintenance projects on our beautiful campus Porter School of Environmental Studies Building The Capsule, (221) |

3:30PM - 4:30PM

Inauguration of the BLAVATNIK CENTER for Drug Discovery

Cohen-Porter Family United Kingdom Building (Britannia), 1st Floor

7:00PM

President's Circle Dinner

Celebrating the 60th Anniversary of Tel Aviv University

By Invitation Only

#### THURSDAY, MAY 19

9:30AM - 11:15AM First Assembly of the Board of Governors

Marking the 60th Anniversary of Tel Aviv University

Opening Remarks

Welcoming New Governors

Prof. Jacob A. Frenkel, Chairman, Board of Governors

State of the University

Prof. Joseph Klafter, President

Dr. Giora Yaron, Chairman, Executive Council

Looking Ahead

Launch of the TAU Capital Campaign

Mr. Amos Elad, VP of Resource Development

Raya and Josef Jaglom Auditorium

11:30AM - 12:55PM **Symposium**:

Transitioning the World into a More Sustainable and Food-Secure Future

Chair: Prof. Yaron Oz, Rector, TAU

Keynote Speaker:

Dr. Segenet Kelemu, Director General,

International Center for Insect Physiology and Ecology, Nairobi, and 2016 TAU Honorary Doctor **Prof. Danny Chamovitz**, Dean, George S. Wise

Faculty of Life Sciences, TAU

**Prof. Ital Sened**, Head, Boris Mints Institute for Strategic Policy Solutions to Global Challenges, Gershon H. Gordon Faculty of Social Sciences, TAU<sup>\*</sup>

1:00PM - 2:15PM Welcome Lunch

Acknowledging our Friends Associations around

the World

2:30PM - 3:15PM Inauguration of the Boris Mints Institute for Strategic Policy Solutions to Global Challenges

Gershon H. Gordon Faculty of Social Sciences, Peretz Naftali Building, Venezuela Hall (527)



Doctor Philosophiae Honoris Causa and Awarding of the George S. Wise Medal

6:45PM Welcome Reception

Kuky and Sergio Grosskopf Family Foyer

8:00PM Ceremony

Miriam and Adolfo Smolarz Auditorium

2016 Recipients Honorary Doctorate

The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Australia

Mr. Boaz Dotan, Israel

Dr. Segenet Kelemu, Ethiopia

Ms. Michal Rovner, Israel

Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, England

Mr. Ratan Tata, India Mr. Steve Tisch, USA

Honorary Fellowship

Dr. Boris Mints, Russian Federation

George S. Wise Medal

Mr. Mortimer Zuckerman, USA

Response on behalf of the recipients:

Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks

9:30PM Dessert Reception

Dress code: Dark suit

Please present your invitation at the entrance

Ceremony will be broadcast live:

http://video.tau.ac.il/Board-of-Governors-16

## FRIDAY May 20

9:00AM - 10:55AM

Second Assembly of the Board of Governors

Kadar Family Award for Outstanding Research and Presentations by the 2016 Award Recipients

Ms. Inbar Hochberg, Chairperson, Student Union

Constitutional Amendments

Committee Reports and Resolutions

Chaired by Prof. Jacob A. Frenkel, Chairman, Board

of Governors

Raya and Josef Jaglom Auditorium

11:15AM - 12:45PM

Geopolitical Symposium

Israel and the Global Geopolitical System: Shifting

Alliances and Policy Challenges

Moderator: Prof. Jacob A. Frenkel, Chairman,

Board of Governors

The Hon Tony Abbott MP, Former Prime Minister

of Australia

Ambassador Ron Prosor, Former Permanent Representative of Israel at the United Nations Rabbi Lord Jonathan Sacks, Former Chief Rabbi of the United Hebrew Congregations of the

Commonwealth, 1991 to 2013

Raya and Josef Jaglom Auditorium

12:50PM - 1:50PM

Lunch

2:00PM - 3:00PM

Awarding of the Hugo Ramniceanu Prize in Economics for 2016

Prize Recipient: Dr. Eli Fischer, Founder, Fischer

Pharmaceuticals Ltd.

Awarding of the Hugo and Valerie Ramniceanu Scholarship in Economics

Raya and Josef Jaglom Auditorium

5:00PM - 6:30PM

Welcoming Shabbat: Cocktail Reception

Join us for cocktails by the beach at sunset

Hilton Tel Aviv Balcony

205 Hayarkon St., Independence Park, Tel Aviv

8:00PM

Shabbat Home Hospitality

Enjoy Shabbat dinner in an intimate Israeli home atmosphere

(For overseas governors and guests only)



#### SATURDAY, MAY 21

Dedicated day of activities with your Friends Association. Contact your local Association for details.

8:30PM

10

Celebrating 60 Years of Tel Aviv University

It's party time! Kick-up your heels and join us for a spectacular night of music, dance and gastronomic delights at our brand new national icon.

Steinhardt Museum of Natural History and National Center for Biodiversity Studies, Prof. Klausner St. opposite Matatia Gate (gate 2)

### SUNDAY, MAY 22

7:30AM Depart from Tel Aviv for Jerusalem

10:30AM - 11:30AM Meeting with the President of the State of Israel Mr Reuven Rivlin \*

President's Residence. Jerusalem

\* By invitation only

12:00PM - 2:00PM

A special visit to the Knesset, Israel's parliament, in Jerusalem

Briefing with prominent Israeli leaders
To be followed by a discussion on the important
role of the Jewish Diaspora in shaping Israel
Within the framework of the Annual John Gandel
Symposium\*

\* By invitation only



6:45PM - 8:00PM

Reception

Kuky and Sergio Grosskopf Family Foyer

8:00PM - 10:00PM

Award Ceremony

Miriam and Adolfo Smolarz Auditorium

Laureates:

Social History - New Directions: Past Time Dimension

Prof. Inga Clendinnen, Australia

Prof. Arlette Farge, National Center for Scientific

Research Paris, France

Prof. Catherine Hall, University College London, UK

Combating Poverty: Present Time Dimension Prof. Sir Anthony Atkinson, Nuffield College,

Oxford University, UK

Prof. Francois Bourguignon, Paris School of

Economics, France

Prof. James Heckman, University of Chicago, USA

Nanoscience: Future Time Dimension

Prof. Paul Alivisatos, University of California,

Berkeley, USA

Prof. Chad Mirkin, Northwestern University, USA Prof. Sir John Pendry, Imperial College London, UK

