• Main
  • The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Physics

    Laureates of 2018

    Laureates of the Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Physics are 

    Call for Nominations 2018


    The Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences, awarded at Tel-Aviv University (TAU), has been established through the generosity of the late Dr. Raymond and of Mrs. Beverly Sackler.  It is awarded alternatively in the fields of Physics and Chemistry.  This year an amount of $100,000 will be presented in Physics. The prize can be shared by up to two recipients. The recipient(s) will be awarded the prize in person in a ceremony to be held at the Ramat Aviv campus of Tel Aviv University.


    The prize is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality, and excellence by rewarding outstanding young scientists. The age limit has been set at 40 years at the deadline for submission of recommendations.


    The Sackler Prize is administered by TAU through an advisory committee comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector.  The non ex-officio members are appointed to a three year term. 


    The field for the year 2018 is entitled: "Quantum Field Theory – Novel Developments" and the coordinators are Professor Marek Karliner and Professor Shimon Yankielowicz. We look for outstanding and bright young scientists who made important, innovative and novel contributions to our understanding of Quantum Field Theory. A selection panel composed of the coordinators, as well as other outstanding scientists in the field (whose names shall remain confidential) has been appointed. Previous Sackler Prizes laureates in  physics.


    Nominations for this year’s Sackler Prize can be made by individuals belonging to one or more of the following categories:


    1.  Presidents, Rectors, Vice-Presidents, Provosts, Deans in the Natural Sciences and Professors of  Physics and Mathematical Physics in recognized leading institutions of higher learning and research in Israel and abroad.

    2.  Members of National Academies of Sciences.

    3.  Professors at Tel-Aviv University and Members of the Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities.

    4.  Sackler Prize Laureates. 


    All nominations should be sent by email and received by 15 November 2017 to: Ms. Nina Wolff-Elazar, Administrative Assistant to the Sackler Prize Committee, School of Physics and Astronomy, Tel Aviv University, Ramat Aviv, Tel Aviv, Israel 69978.


    Each nomination should be in the form of a letter of recommendation which will include a summary of the research achievements and novel contributions.


    Members of TAU faculty are not eligible to receive the prize.  An individual may not nominate oneself.


    List of Laurerates From Previous Years

    Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>
    Tel Aviv University, P.O. Box 39040, Tel Aviv 6997801, Israel
    UI/UX Basch_Interactive