The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Chemistry

גרסה בעברית


Announcement of Laureates - 2022


The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in the Physical Sciences, awarded at Tel Aviv University, was established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. The prize is awarded alternatively in the fields of Chemistry and Physics, and is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence by rewarding outstanding young scientists, under 45 years of age. 


This year an amount of $100,000 will be presented in the field of Chemistry, in the subject of Physical Chemistry for Biomedical Sciences.


Tel Aviv University is proud to announce that the 2022 Raymond and Beverly Sackler Prize in the Physical Sciences for Chemistry will be awarded to two excellent researchers:


Prof. Adam E. Cohen

Departments of Chemistry and Chemical Biology, and Physics, Harvard University


A prolific scientist, contributed multiple impactful ‘firsts’ in many various fields:


(i) ABEL trap for single molecule enzymology and single molecule spectroscopy of macromolecules / nanoparticles

(ii) spectroscopy of chiral molecules and their optical properties 

(iii) mechanical properties of cell membranes and implications for neurons

(iv) novel sensors for bioelectricity studies and their implementation in live behaving animals 

(v) novel stimulated emission microscopy

(vi) time-tagged ticker tapes for recording histories of neural activation

all contributions are phenomenal.


Dr. Bozhi Tian

Department of Chemistry, University of Chicago


A very strong scientist, highly productive,  mostly focuses on bioelectricity: detection and modulation by novel nano (hybrid) materials and devices.

(i) design, fabrication, testing and implementation of bio-soft materials and semiconductor-based nano devices (mostly Si nanowires) for I/O into cells, tissues, etc.

(ii) optical neuro/cardio modulation without genetic manipulation

(iii) bacterial bioelectricity


Tel Aviv University makes every effort to respect copyright. If you own copyright to the content contained
here and / or the use of such content is in your opinion infringing, Contact us as soon as possible >>