You are here

  • Main
  • The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics

    Sackler International Prize in Biophysics

    The Raymond and Beverly Sackler International Prize in Biophysics was established through the generosity of Dr. Raymond and Mrs. Beverly Sackler. Tel Aviv University is honored to administer the prize, which is intended to encourage dedication to science, originality and excellence. This year an amount of $100,000 will be presented and no age limit is applied to the prize candidates. The prize will be awarded to the recipient(s), in person, at Tel Aviv University.


    The Sackler Prize in Biophysics is administered by Tel Aviv University through an advisory committee comprised of the President and Rector of TAU as ex-officio members and others who have been selected ad personam by the President and the Rector.



    Research Field: Physical Principles of Biological Systems


    Prof. Howard C. Berg

    Department of Molecular and Cellular Biology,

    The Rowland Institute, Harvard University, USA,



    For pioneering contributions to understanding the physical mechanisms of bacterial motion and chemotaxis.



    Prof. George Oster

    Department of Molecular & Cell. Biology and Department of Environmental Science, Policy & Management, University of California, Berkeley, USA



    For discovery of physical principles behind intracellular force generation in cell motility, morphogenesis and biological pattern formation.

    Photo: Julie Van Scoy


    List of Laureates From Previous Years


    Tel Aviv University, 69978 Tel Aviv, Israel
    Tel: +972-3-640-7389, Email:


    Tel Aviv University, P.O. Box 39040, Tel Aviv 6997801, Israel
    Developed by